God placed the parts

But as it is, God placed the parts,
each one of them, in the body as he intended.

I wish holiness were easier.

It just seems unfair, you know? I want to be holy, I want to be good, and I feel like my nature fights it. I’m brash and loud, I’m opinionated and confrontational. If we are all parts of one Body, I am either the heel or the ass.

My whole life I have doubted my vocation – not a particular vocation to a job or to marriage or the single life, but my vocation to ministry and discipleship. I’m so drawn to this lifestyle that I know it must be what I’m meant to do, but the doubt remains: if God wanted me to be a Good Catholic Woman, why did God make me so loud??

When I heard last night’s second reading I was reminded that God doesn’t make mistakes, that God can use all things for good. My mouthiness, my aggressiveness, my volume, maybe even my pride, all can be used for the good, and all are necessary parts of the Body of Christ.

This entry was posted in faith, lectionary, Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to God placed the parts

  1. James says:

    Last I checked, loudness and self-confidence (pride being the misdirected form of this) are pretty important to being a professional singer. 🙂

    And I can’t think of how anyone could effectively teach religion without being at least somewhat loud, brash, and confrontational.

  2. Amy H. says:

    And who’s to say you AREN’T the definition of a Good Catholic Woman? You’re using the world’s definition. 🙂

  3. agjorgenson says:

    Brash, loud, confrontational, and opinionated… kind of reminds me of Jesus in the temple!

  4. Flor says:

    Thank goodness you raise your voice! I’d hate to miss what you have to say. }:>

Leave a comment